1737 Dance the brand that came and went quickly.

The Dream pointe shoe, or nightmare as it turned out…..In my last post I mentioned a shoe called the Dream which was being promoted on the Grishko World site. Mind you as I’ve also mentioned in a previous blog post, this is not the same as Grishko who sells in the USA. Meanwhile I’m still wearing the 4.5 XXX Grishko 2007 but not loving it, when I notice 1737 a “new” company and their shoes show up on Discount Dance: The Legend, The Dream, and the Katya. I knew this must be some offshoot of Grishko World but wanted to give them a try. Here’s a great video comparing the 2007 to the Legend.  I also knew that this was “risky business” since they were selling a shoe (Dream) that I was told in no uncertain terms, by Judy at the Grishko boutique, would not be sold in this country. So I knew if I fell in love with one of these 1737 shoes they might not be around forever (foreshadowing!!) since the whole set up seemed a bit dicey.

So big amazing props to Discount Dance and their ability to ship in a timely manner and most importantly the ability to return items! I ordered The Legend, The Dream, and the Katya in a variety of sizes (three sizes for each model!) since I couldn’t try them on in person and had no idea how their sizing would be. I very very carefully unwrapped each pair of shoes with freshly washed hands, and tried on the shoes only gently stepping onto pointe on a clean towel on the floor to keep the toes clean. First I tried on each size of The Dream. I could tell from the first pair this probably wasn’t the shoe for me. Tried on the other two and carefully rewrapped them and placed them in the box to return. Heart beating quickly and a little bit of stress sweat beginning to happen I begin the same process with The Legend. It was almost a match, but of course you want your pointe shoes to be Great, not just ok. Now I shakily began this process with the Katya. First shoe I tried I thought “hmmm, these are quite nice, but not the right size.” Next shoe I thought “omg, I have found my new favorite shoes! But also still not the right size” I was like Goldilocks here folks! The first one was too big, the next one was to small, and the third one: was Just Right!

Oh happy day!!!!

(I happily sent back the other shoes to Discount Dance and was incredibly grateful to receive my refund once the return was processed) This saga will continue because remember; foreshadowing!

screen capture from a Boomerang so not a perfect shot!